top of page
  • Emma Oliver

"I am a Lesbian" - Mythic Quest, S1Ep3


Queerness is often hidden behind long stares or unusual touches. Most times, there is a question of if one same sex person, but even when used as an attempt to help a friend (crush) out, I so rarely hear "I am a lesbian". Even in sapphic movies or novels, I don't think I've seen or heard this phrase. Seeing a person whose work I've admired for over a decade say "I am a lesbian", even as a character, struck a chord with me. This year has been one abundantly full of queer culture for me. To start a show that I knew practically nothing about other than Ashly Burch was apart of it somehow, and see her portraying someone like me, has created an overwhelmingly positive feeling. I spent most of this year consuming media that had been priorly given the queer stamp of approval. My most frequented playlists on Spotify are ones I've named, "Broad-Slay" and "gay stuff"; I've tried to curate my world to one where I feel consistently seen. To try something new and still find myself, metaphorically amongst the characters, in a show that is good (I'm only on episode 3 of season 1), took my breath away.


In a succinct, to be submitted into the universe, thank you Ashly Burch (and the creators and writers of Mythic Quest) for doing what the majority don't. - Fingers crossed this show doesn't stamp on this moment they've created with me; hearing the phrase "I am a lesbian" is from the episode mostly focused on what to do about Nazis in a video game. - For now, in this moment, midnight on the Wednesday after Christmas, I feel seen.

8 views1 comment
bottom of page