top of page
  • Emma Oliver

Rediscovering the YA Genre with "Tell Me How You Really Feel"


I fall in and out of reading similar to the changing of the seasons. Sometimes, I'll go for months without sticking with anything longer than a tweet, and other times, I'll be stuck on the couch with the shadows of the day coming and going. This story kept me glued to my couch from the very beginning. It nuzzled the YA loving section of my brain in all of the right ways, and it made my queer heart glow. Enemies to lovers is a classic trope that Aminah Mae Safi dances with so delicately.


Tell Me How You Really Feel highlights every crush I've ever had in such a realistic way that made me cringe. It explores "coming out" in a sensitive and modern light where, as it should be, loving yourself comes before what everyone else thinks. Safi also explores re-learning who you are after a breakup without being afraid of making a character toxic to themselves and those around them. Healing is a journey with plenty of mistakes to be made. Partnering this sentiment with forgiveness and high school turmoil creates tension and humility wrapped up in a sapphic bow.


Highly recommend to the young queer in your life, or to help heal your inner, high school aged demons.


- Em

1 view0 comments
bottom of page